





Prepared by Human Rights Watch November 2010

Transparency Reporting (Article 7)

Article 7 of the 1997 Mine Ban Treaty states that "Each State Party shall report to the Secretary General of the United Nations as soon as practicable, and in any event not later than 180 days after the entry into force of this Convention for that State Party" regarding steps taken to implement aspects of the convention. Thereafter, States Parties are obligated to report annually, by 30 April, on the preceding calendar year.

Only 54% of States Parties have submitted reports for calendar year 2009, as of 18 November 2010. This is the lowest annual compliance rate in the past decade.¹

• States Parties that have submitted reports for 2009 (85): Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cambodia, Canada, Chad, Chile, Colombia, DR Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Greece, Guinea-Bissau, Guatemala, Holy See, Hungary, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malawi, Malaysia, Mauritania, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Mozambique, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, San Marino, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uganda, United Kingdom, Venezuela, Yemen, and Zambia.

More disturbingly, of the 71States Parties that have not submitted a report for 2009, most have not submitted an annual transparency report for two or more years.

- States that have not submitted a report since 2004 or earlier (21): Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Botswana, Central African Republic, Comoros, Fiji, Gabon, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Kiribati, Liberia, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Timor-Leste, and Togo.
- States that have not submitted reports for 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005 (3): Djibouti, Mali, and the Seychelles.
- States that have not submitted reports for 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006 (5): Belize, Bolivia, Lesotho, Maldives, and Swaziland.
- States that have not submitted reports for 2009, 2008, 2007 (5): Bhutan, Cook Islands, Honduras, Jamaica, and Niue.

¹ The final rate of compliance was 64% for calendar year 2008, 62% for calendar year 2007, 64% for 2006, 71% for 2005, 74% for 2004, and 79% for 2003.



- States that have not submitted reports for 2009 and 2008 (14): Benin, Burkina Faso, Dominica, Iceland, Kenya, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Mauritius, Rwanda, Samoa, São Tomé & Principe, Suriname, Uruguay, and Vanuatu.
- States Parties that have not submitted a report for 2009 (18): Andorra, Bahamas, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Congo (Rep. of), Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Gambia, Haiti, Macedonia FYR, Malta, Niger, Palau, Panama, Slovenia, Sudan, Tanzania, and Zimbabwe.

Key Developments for Calendar Year 2009

Cape Verde and **Gambia** submitted initial reports in the latter part of 2009.

This leaves **Equatorial Guinea** as the only State Party to have never submitted an initial transparency report (due due 28 August 1999).

Treaty signatory **Poland** submitted its eighth voluntary transparency report for calendar year 2009. Morocco submitted its fourth transparency report for calendar year 2009. In previous years, **Azerbaijan**, **Mongolia**, **Morocco**, and **Sri Lanka** submitted voluntary reports.² Other countries have stated their intention to submit voluntary reports, including Armenia, China, and, in May 2009, Lao PDR.

States Should Use Transparency Reports to Address Special Issues of Concern

States Using Expanded Form D to Report on Retained Mines: Afghanistan, Argentina, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burundi, Canada, Chile, DR Congo, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Guinea-Bissau, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Malawi, Mauritania, Namibia, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Peru, Portugal, Romania, Rwanda, Serbia, Slovakia, South Africa, Tajikistan, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and Venezuela.

States Using Expanded Form B to Report on Newly Discovered Stockpiles of Mines: Afghanistan, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cambodia, Republic of the Congo, Guatemala, Niger, Sudan, Tajikistan, and Uganda.

States Reporting on Claymore Mines and OZM-72 Mines and Steps Taken to Ensure Command-Detonation Only: Afghanistan, Algeria, Bangladesh, Belarus, Brunei, Denmark, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, New Zealand, Norway, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, and Zimbabwe.

Voluntary Reporting on Foreign Stocks: Tajikistan.

² Signatories Cameroon, Gambia, and Lithuania also provided voluntary reports prior to entry into force of the treaty for them.