





FACT SHEET

Mine Ban Treaty Transparency Reporting (Article 7)

18 May 2016

Only 29% of States Parties submitted 2015 reports.

Article 7 of the Mine Ban Treaty requires that each State Party "report to the Secretary General of the United Nations as soon as practicable, and in any event not later than 180 days after the entry into force of this Convention for that State Party" regarding steps taken to implement the treaty. Thereafter, States Parties are obligated to report annually, by 30 April, on the preceding calendar year.

Initial reports

Nearly all States Parties have submitted an initial report. Only Tuvalu (due 28 August 2012) has not submitted an initial report.

Annual updates

As of 18 May 2016, only 29% of States Parties had submitted annual reports for calendar year 2015. This represents an all-time low in compliance with the transparency obligation of the Mine Ban Treaty.

A total of 115 States Parties have not submitted a report for calendar year 2015:

Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central Africa Republic, Colombia, Comoros, Congo (Rep of), Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cote d'Ivoire, DR Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lesotho, Liberia, Luxembourg, Macedonia FYR, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mauritius, Moldova, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Oman, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Philippines, Romania, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Timor Leste, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Of this group:

- 87 States Parties have failed to submit an annual transparency report for two or more years.
- 18 States Parties have Article 5 clearance obligations (Angola, Argentina, Colombia, DR Congo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Iraq, Niger, Oman, Senegal, Serbia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tajikistan, Turkey, Yemen, and Zimbabwe) and three have stockpile destruction obligations (Belarus and Oman, with the status of Somalia remaining unclear.)



- Antipersonnel mines were used by non-state armed groups in 2015 in four of these States Parties (Colombia, Iraq, Nigeria, and Yemen), meaning new contamination should probably be reported.
- Forces loyal to the previous government in Yemen used antipersonnel mines in 2011 and the current government took some measures to ensure compliance, but recent activities are unknown and should be reported. Additionally, non-state armed groups used antipersonnel mines in 2015 in areas previously cleared and returned to the community.

Voluntary reports

No state that is currently not party to the treaty submitted a voluntary report in 2014 or in 2015. In previous years, Morocco (2006, 2008–2011, and 2013), Azerbaijan (2008 and 2009), Laos (2010), Mongolia (2007), Palestine (2012 and 2013), and Sri Lanka (2005) submitted voluntary reports.