Mine Ban Policy

Last updated: 02 November 2011


The Kingdom of Denmark signed the Mine Ban Treaty on 4 December 1997 and ratified it on 8 June 1998, becoming a State Party on 1 March 1999. No additional legal or administrative measures were deemed necessary for national implementation of the treaty beyond ratification.

Denmark submitted its 15th Mine Ban Treaty Article 7 report in March 2011.

Denmark attended the Tenth Meeting of States Parties to the Mine Ban Treaty in Geneva in November–December 2010, as well as the intersessional Standing Committee meetings in June 2011.

Denmark is party to the Convention on Conventional Weapons (CCW) and its Amended Protocol II on landmines, and submitted its Article 13 report on 29 September 2011. Denmark is also party to the CCW Protocol V on explosive remnants of war.

Production, transfer, stockpiling, and retention

Denmark has stated that production of antipersonnel mines ceased in the 1950s, and that it has never exported antipersonnel mines. The types and quantities produced have not been revealed.[1] Import of antipersonnel mines ceased in 1990.[2]

Stockpile destruction of 266,517 mines was completed in December 1999, well in advance of the treaty deadline of 1 March 2003. Denmark initially retained 4,991 mines for training and research, but this number was reduced to 2,091 in August 2000. In its Article 7 report submitted in 2011, Denmark reported that it retained 1,893 mines for training as of 31 March 2011.[3] These mines are used for “research and development by Danish Defence Research Establishment,” and for training in mine detection.[4]

Denmark’s Article 7 reports have not included the M18A1 Claymore mines and FFV013 Claymore-type mines previously acknowledged to be in stock. The Ministry of Defense stated that these mines have all been modified to command-detonated mode, and are now treated and used only as an “area defense weapon” by the Army (M18A1) and the Air Force (FFV013).[5]


[1] Letter from Michael Borg-Hansen, Counselor, Royal Danish Embassy, Washington, DC, 11 July 1996. 

[2] Written response from Maj. Per Lyse Rasmussen, Ministry of Defense, 25 March 1999.

[3] Mine Ban Treaty Article 7 Report (for period 1 April 2010 to 31 March 2011), Form D.

[4] Ibid.

[5] Telephone interview with Maj. P. Lyse Rasmussen, Ministry of Defense, 22 January 2001.