Mine Ban Policy

Last updated: 11 October 2012

The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg signed the Mine Ban Treaty on 4 December 1997 and ratified it on 14 June 1999, becoming a State Party on 1 December 1999. Luxembourg has not produced or exported antipersonnel mines, but previously imported mines. Export of antipersonnel mines was banned in April 1997. Legislation to enforce the antipersonnel mine prohibition domestically entered into force in December 1999. Luxembourg submitted its 13th Mine Ban Treaty Article 7 report on 30 April 2012.

Luxembourg finished destruction of its stockpile of 9,600 antipersonnel mines in August 1997. It initially retained 988 mines for training purposes, reducing this number to 599 by 1 January 2011.[1] In May 2011, Luxembourg destroyed all these mines, and currently does not retain any for training.[2]

Luxembourg attended the Eleventh Meeting of States Parties to the Mine Ban Treaty in November-December 2011 in Phnom Penh, where it delivered a statement during the General Exchange of Views.[3] Luxembourg did not attend the intersessional Standing Committee meetings for the treaty in 2011 or 2012. Luxembourg is party to the Convention on Conventional Weapons and its Amended Protocol II on landmines and Protocol V on explosive remnants of war.


[1] Mine Ban Treaty Article 7 Report (for the period 1 January 2009 to 1 January 2010), Form D.

[2] Mine Ban Treaty Article 7 Report (for the period 1 January 2001 to 1 January 2011), Form B.

[3] Statement of Luxembourg, Mine Ban Treaty Eleventh Meeting of States Parties, Phnom Penh, 29 November 2011.