Mine Ban Policy

Last updated: 02 November 2011

Mine ban policy overview

Mine Ban Treaty status

State Party

Participation in Mine Ban Treaty meetings

Acceded to Mine Ban Treaty on 13 September 2011; attended the intersessional Standing Committee meetings in Geneva in June 2011, its first-ever participation in a Mine Ban Treaty meeting


Tuvalu acceded to the Mine Ban Treaty on 13 September 2011. Tuvalu is the 157th State Party to the Mine Ban Treaty and the first to come on board since Palau joined in November 2007.[1]

In early August 2011, the Mine Ban Treaty’s Implementation Support Unit (ISU) stated that Tuvalu could join the Mine Ban Treaty “in coming months.”[2] The announcement came after a three-day visit to Tuvalu by Prince Mired Raad Zeid Al-Hussein of Jordan, the Mine Ban Treaty’s Special Envoy on Universalization. Prince Mired met with Prime Minister Willy Telavi and other government representatives to discuss Tuvalu’s accession to the Mine Ban Treaty.[3]

In June 2011, Tuvalu participated in the intersessional Standing Committee meetings in Geneva, its first-ever participation in a meeting of the Mine Ban Treaty. A Ministry of Foreign Affairs official informed States Parties: “Tuvalu is here to listen and hopefully become a member in the near future” and expressed concern at the social, health, and economic problems caused by mines. The official said that, “a report will be made possible to our cabinet, once our position is finalized this will be then conveyed to your good office at the earliest.”[4]

Tuvalu has expressed support for the Mine Ban Treaty on several occasions, but limited resources appear to have prevented accession from advancing.[5] Since 2006, Tuvalu has voted in support of the annual UN General Assembly (UNGA) resolution calling for universalization and full implementation of the Mine Ban Treaty, including Resolution 65/48 on 8 December 2010.[6]

Use, production, transfer, and stockpiling

Tuvalu has stated several times that it does not use, produce, import, or stockpile antipersonnel mines.[7]

Tuvalu is not party to the Convention on Conventional Weapons.


[1] With Tuvalu’s accession, only three Pacific nations remain outside the Mine Ban Treaty: the Kingdom of Tonga, Federated States of Micronesia, and the Republic of the Marshall Islands.

[2] The Tuvalu visit took place on 2–4 August 2011. See, ISU, “Global movement to eradicate landmines poised to be strengthened thanks to commitments made in the South Pacific,” Press release, Suva, 5 August 2011, www.apminebanconvention.org.

[3] Prince Mired met with Governor General Sir Lakoba Taeia Italeli, Prime Minister Willy Telavi, and Minister of Foreign Affairs Apisai Lelemia. He also met with representatives of the Tuvalu Association of Non-Governmental Organizations and local media.

[4] Statement of Tuvalu, Standing Committee on the General Status and Operation of the Convention, Mine Ban Treaty, Geneva, 20 June 2011.

[5] In April 2002, an official said that Tuvalu would accede “in the years to come as it is not a priority area.” In September 2003, another official stated, “We do not see any obstacles in our final acceding to the said Convention.” In 2004, the Prime Minister said that the Attorney General would draft an accession bill to go to parliament. See Landmine Monitor Report 2006, p. 1,038. In January 2004, a Tuvalu government official indicated that the main obstacles to joining the treaty were “limited manpower, and financial resources to meet other pressing needs on our budget.” Letter from Panapasi Nelesone, Secretary to Government, 15 January 2004. In September 2008, Tuvalu’s first ambassador to the UN confirmed these constraints. CMC meeting with Amb. Afelee F. Pita, Permanent Mission of Tuvalu to the UN, New York, 10 September 2008. Notes by the CMC.

[6] After becoming a member of the UN in September 2000, Tuvalu voted in support of the annual pro-mine ban UNGA resolutions in 2004, 2005, and 2008, but was absent from the votes in 2000–2003, 2006–2007, and 2009.

[7] Statement of Tuvalu, Standing Committee on the General Status and Operation of the Convention, Mine Ban Treaty, Geneva, 20 June 2011; and letter from Bill P. Teo, Secretary to Government, 15 April 2002.