





## Prepared by Human Rights Watch June 2010

## **Cluster Munition Stockpiles of Signatories to the Convention on Cluster Munitions**

A total of <u>87 countries possessed stockpiles</u> of cluster munitions at some point in time.

- 38 of these countries so far have signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions.<sup>1</sup>
- Signatories Australia, Honduras, Iraq, and Spain, and non-signatory Argentina once had stockpiles, but do not currently possess cluster munitions.
- Spain completed the destruction of its stockpile of 4,724 cluster munitions, containing 223,261 submunitions, in March 2009. It was the first to do so since signing the convention. It is retaining 836 cluster munitions, containing 28,615 submunitions, for training and countermeasures testing purposes, as permitted under Article 3.
- Of the 34 signatories with stockpiles, destruction activity is known to be underway in at least 11: Belgium, Canada, Colombia, France, Germany, Moldova, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom.

12 signatory states have provided information about the types and quantities of cluster munitions in their stockpiles. Collectively, these 12 states have stockpiled at least 662,000 cluster munitions containing more than 144 million submunitions:

## Known stockpiles of submunitions in signatory states (known quantities of submunitions indicated)

Germany (50 million)	Belgium (10 million)	Slovenia (53,000)
United Kingdom (39 million)	Norway (3 million)	Montenegro (52,000)
Netherlands (26 million)	Austria (798,000)	Moldova (13,000)
France (15 million)	Spain (252,000)	Colombia (11,000)

23 signatories with stockpiles have not disclosed information on the quantities, and in some cases types, possessed. Seven of these states once produced cluster munitions and may possess significant stockpiles: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Chile, Italy, Japan, South Africa, Sweden, and Switzerland.

States that have stockpiled cluster munitions and **HAVE NOT** signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions (49): Algeria, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belarus, Brazil, Cambodia, China, Cuba, Egypt, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, Georgia, Greece, India, Iran, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, North Korea, South Korea, Kuwait, Libya, Mongolia, Morocco, Oman, Pakistan, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Syria, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States, Uzbekistan, Yemen, Zimbabwe. Those no longer stockpiling are in italics.

France, Germany, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, Iraq, Italy, Japan, Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, Nigeria, Norway, Peru, Portugal, Rwanda, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Uganda, United Kingdom. Those no longer stockpiling are in italics.

<sup>1</sup> States that have stockpiled cluster munitions and have signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions (38): Angola, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Congo (Republic of), Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark,