Burkina Faso

Mine Ban Policy

Last updated: 13 November 2019


Burkina Faso signed the Mine Ban Treaty on 3 December 1997 and ratified it on 16 September 1998, becoming a State Party on 1 March 1999. Burkina Faso was the 40th country to ratify the treaty, triggering its entry into force six months later. Legislation to enforce the antipersonnel mine prohibition domestically was enacted in 2001.[1]

Burkina Faso occasionally attends meetings of the treaty, most recently the Fourteenth Meeting of States Parties in Geneva in November–December 2015. Burkina Faso also attended the Third Review Conference in Maputo in June 2014. Burkina Faso last submitted an updated Article 7 transparency report in April 2016.

On 5 December 2018, Burkina Faso voted in favor of UN General Assembly (UNGA) Resolution 73/61, promoting universalization and implementation of the convention.[2]

Burkina Faso is party to the Convention on Conventional Weapons (CCW), its Amended Protocol II on landmines, and Protocol V on explosive remnants of war. Burkina Faso is also party to the Convention on Cluster Munitions.

Production, Transfer, Use, and Stockpiling

Burkina Faso has never used, produced, imported, exported, or stockpiled antipersonnel mines, including for training purposes.

[1] Decree No. 2001-180/PRES/PM/SECU, 02 May 2001.

[2] “Implementation of the Convention on the Prohibition of the Use, Stockpiling, Production and Transfer of Anti-Personnel Mines and on Their Destruction,” UNGA Resolution 73/61, 5 December 2018.