Mine Ban Policy

Last updated: 18 December 2019


The Republic of Djibouti signed the Mine Ban Treaty on 3 December 1997 and ratified it on 18 May 1998, becoming a State Party on 1 March 1999. The president signed national implementation legislation on 11 March 2006.[1] The law also created a national commission responsible for application of the law.

Djibouti attended its first meeting of the treaty in a decade when it attended the Seventeenth Meeting of States Parties in Geneva in November 2018. Djibouti did not attend the Third Review Conference in Maputo in June 2014. Djibouti last submitted an Article 7 transparency report in 2005.

Djibouti is party to the Convention on Conventional Weapons (CCW), but is not party to its Amended Protocol II on landmines or CCW Protocol V on explosive remnants of war. Djibouti is not party to the Convention on Cluster Munitions.

Production, transfer, stockpiling, and retention

Djibouti reported that it has not produced antipersonnel mines. It is not known to have ever exported mines.[2]

On 2 March 2003, one day after its treaty-mandated deadline, Djibouti destroyed the last of its stockpile of 1,118 antipersonnel mines.[3] In 2005, Djibouti reported that it retained 2,996 antipersonnel mines for training purposes, the same number it first declared in January 2003.[4] It has not provided an update since that time and has never reported in any detail on the intended purposes and actual uses of its retained mines—a step agreed by States Parties at the Mine Ban Treaty’s First Review Conference in November–December 2004.


Both the government and the Front for the Restoration of Unity and Democracy used landmines around military positions and on access roads during the 1991–1994 civil war.[5]

[1] “Loi n°141/AN/06/5ème L portant mise en oeuvre de la Convention d’Ottawa sur l’interdiction de l’emploi, du stockage, de la production et du transfert des mines anti-personnel et sur leur destruction” (“Implementation of the Ottawa Convention),” Journal Officiel de la République de Djibouti,

[2] Mine Ban Treaty Article 7 Report, Form E, 16 January 2003.

[3] Mine Ban Treaty Article 7 Report, Form G, Tableau Explicatif, 6 February 2004; and Article 7 Report, Form G, 16 January 2003.

[4] Mines retained include: 650 M12; 307 M412; 621 PPM2; 665 T72; 521 MB; 16 DV; 30 M961; 10 AV; 128 PPMISR; 12 MLE421; 18 M59; and 18 of unknown type and origin. Article 7 Reports, Form D, 25 January 2005; and Form D, 16 January 2003.

[5] See, Landmine Monitor Report 1999, pp. 33–34.