Dominican Republic

Mine Ban Policy

Last updated: 18 December 2019


The Dominican Republic signed the Mine Ban Treaty on 3 December 1997 and ratified it on 30 June 2000, becoming a State Party on 1 December 2000. The Dominican Republic has stated that it has not enacted domestic implementing legislation because it is not mine-affected and does not stockpile antipersonnel mines.[1]

The Dominican Republic occasionally attends meetings of the treaty, most recently the Seventeenth Meeting of States Parties in Geneva in November 2018, where it did not provide a statement. It did not attend the Third Review Conference in Maputo in June 2014. The Dominican Republic submitted its fourth Mine Ban Treaty Article 7 report on 10 March 2009, but has not provided subsequent annual reports.

The Dominican Republic is party to the Convention on Conventional Weapons (CCW), including CCW Amended Protocol II on landmines and CCW Protocol V on explosive remnants of war. It is also party to the Convention on Cluster Munitions.

The Dominican Republic has never used, produced, imported, exported, or stockpiled antipersonnel mines, including for training purposes

[1] Statement by Brig. Gen. Zakaria Cheick Ibrahim, Ministry of Defense, 29 January 2004; and Annex to Article 7 Report, 6 February 2004.