Mine Ban Policy

Last updated: 18 December 2019

The Kingdom of Eswatini (formerly the Kingdom of Swaziland) signed the Mine Ban Treaty on 4 December 1997 and ratified it on 22 December 1998, becoming a State Party on 1 June 1999. It has not enacted new legislation specifically to implement the Mine Ban Treaty.

Eswatini occasionally attends meetings of the treaty, most recently the Third Review Conference in Maputo in June 2014. Eswatini has not submitted an updated Article 7 transparency report since 2013.

Eswatini is not party to the Convention on Conventional Weapons, nor is it party to the Convention on Cluster Munitions.

Eswatini has never used, produced, exported, or imported antipersonnel mines, including for training purposes.

Eswatini had a suspected hazardous area, the result of conflict spilling over from neighboring Mozambique, but technical survey did not find any antipersonnel mines. In November 2007, Eswatini announced it had fulfilled compliance with Article 5 almost two years before its 1 June 2009 treaty-mandated deadline.