Mine Ban Policy

Last updated: 18 December 2019


The Republic of Hungary signed the Mine Ban Treaty on 3 December 1997 and ratified it on 6 April 1998, becoming a State Party on 1 March 1999. Legislation to enforce the antipersonnel mine prohibition domestically entered into force on 7 March 1998.

Hungary has attended most meetings of the treaty, including the Third Review Conference in Maputo in June 2014. More recently, Hungary attended the Seventeenth Meeting of States Parties in Geneva in November 2018 and the intersessional meetings in May 2019, but did not provide a statement at either meeting.

Hungary served as co-chair of the Standing Committee on Stockpile Destruction from 1999–2000.

Hungary is party to the Convention on Conventional Weapons and its Amended Protocol II on landmines and Protocol V on explosive remnants of war. Hungary is also party to the Convention on Cluster Munitions.

Production, use, transfer, and stockpiling

Hungary is a former antipersonnel mine producer and exporter. Hungarian state facilities produced six types of landmines: the GYATA-64 blast mine (similar to Soviet PMN), the M62 and M49 blast mines (similar to Soviet PMD-6), the RAMP blast mine (WWII-era), the No. 1131 bounding mine, and the Model 36 fragmentation mine. Hungary’s mines have been used in Cambodia, Angola, South Africa, and elsewhere.[1] Hungary destroyed 375,339 stockpiled antipersonnel mines from 1998–1999.

Hungary has no known mined areas but is contaminated by unexploded ordnance from World War II.

[1] US Department of Defense, “Mine Facts” CD ROM; and Eddie Banks, Antipersonnel Landmines: Recognizing and Disarming (London: Brassey’s, 1997), pp. 128–132.