Mine Ban Policy

Last updated: 18 December 2019


Liechtenstein signed the Mine Ban Treaty on 3 December 1997 and ratified it on 5 October 1999, becoming a State Party on 1 April 2000. National implementation legislation was passed by Parliament on 9 September 1999.[1]

Liechtenstein occasionally attended Meetings of States Parties, most recently the Thirteenth Meeting of States Parties in 2013. It did not attend the Third Review Conference in Maputo in June 2014. Liechtenstein submits annual Article 7 transparency reports.

Liechtenstein is party to the Convention on Conventional Weapons (CCW) and its Amended Protocol II on landmines and Protocol V on explosive remnants of war. Liechtenstein is also party to the Convention on Cluster Munitions.

Liechtenstein has never possessed, produced, transferred, or used antipersonnel mines.

[1] Ordinance on the Indirect Transfer of War Material, LGBL 1999 No.185, prohibits activities enabling the production, buying, selling or transfer of war material, including antipersonnel mines. Mine Ban Treaty Article 7 Report, Form A, 18 September 2000 (reporting period not stated). The Swiss Federal Law on War Material of 13 December 1996, which includes penal sanctions, is also applicable in Liechtenstein, due to the Custom Union Treaty.