Mine Ban Policy

Last updated: 18 December 2019

The Republic of Malawi signed the Mine Ban Treaty on 4 December 1997 and ratified it on 13 August 1998, becoming a State Party on 1 March 1999. Malawi has drafted a Land Mine Prohibition Act to implement the Mine Ban Treaty, but no updates have been provided since 2010.[1]

Malawi has not attended any recent meetings of the treaty. It did not attend the Third Review Conference in Maputo in June 2014. Malawi last submitted an updated Article 7 transparency report in 2010.

Malawi is not party to the Convention on Conventional Weapons. Malawi is party to the Convention on Cluster Munitions.

Malawi has never used, produced, imported, exported, or stockpiled antipersonnel mines. It possesses 21 inert mines used for training purposes.

[1] Statement of Malawi, Standing Committee on the General Status and Operation of the Convention, Mine Ban Treaty, Geneva, 25 June 2010.