Mine Ban Policy

Last updated: 18 December 2019


The Republic of Malta signed the Mine Ban Treaty on 4 December 1997 and ratified it on 7 May 2001, becoming a State Party on 1 November 2001. Legislation to enforce the antipersonnel mine prohibition domestically was adopted on 27 April 2001.[1]

Malta has attended some meetings of the treaty, most recently the Seventeenth Meeting of States Parties in Geneva in November 2018 and the intersessional meetings in Geneva in May 2019. It did not provide a statement at either meeting. Malta did not attend the Third Review Conference in Maputo in June 2014. Malta has not submitted an Article 7 transparency report since 2009.

Malta is party to the Convention on Conventional Weapons and its Amended Protocol II on landmines and Protocol V on explosive remnants of war. Malta is also party to the Convention on Cluster Munitions.

Malta has never used, produced, imported, exported, or stockpiled antipersonnel mines, including for training purposes.

[1] Legal Notice 97 of 2001, Government Gazette No. 17087, 27 April 2001, issued under the National Interest (Enabling Powers) Act (CAP.365).