Mine Ban Policy

Last updated: 18 December 2019


The Republic of Mauritius signed and ratified the Mine Ban Treaty on 3 December 1997, becoming a State Party on 1 March 1999. Legislation to enforce the antipersonnel mine prohibition domestically was adopted in April 2001.[1] The legislation provides for a total prohibition of the use, development, production, acquisition, stockpiling, retention, and transfer of antipersonnel mines. It makes violators liable to penal servitude and other unspecified penalties imposed by the court, and it applies to violations committed in Mauritius or, in the case of a citizen of Mauritius, elsewhere.

Mauritius does not regularly attend meetings of the treaty, but did attend the Thirteenth Meeting of States Parties in Geneva in December 2013 and the Third Review Conference in Maputo in June 2014. Mauritius consistently submitted Mine Ban Treaty Article 7 reports through 2008, but since then has submitted just two reports, in 2012 and 2014.

Mauritius is party to the Convention on Conventional Weapons but not its Amended Protocol II on landmines or Protocol V on explosive remnants of war. Mauritius is party to the Convention on Cluster Munitions.

Production, transfer, stockpile destruction, and retention

Mauritius has never used or produced antipersonnel mines. Mauritius destroyed its stockpile of 93 antipersonnel mines of Indian origin in November 2003 and did not retain any mines for training purposes.[2]

[1] The Anti-Personnel Mines (Prohibition) Act (No. 1 of 2001).

[2] Mine Ban Treaty Article 7 Report, Form G, 25 April 2004.