Mine Ban Policy

Last updated: 18 December 2019


The United Mexican States signed the Mine Ban Treaty on 3 December 1997 and ratified it on 9 June 1998, becoming a State Party on 1 March 1999. Mexico believes that existing legislation is sufficient to enforce the antipersonnel mine prohibition domestically.

Mexico previously served on the Standing Committee on Victim Assistance and Socio-Economic Reintegration (1999–2000), the Standing Committee on the General Status and Operation of the Convention (2002–2004), and the Standing Committee on the Enhancement of Cooperation and Assistance (2015–2016). Mexico has attended most meetings of the treaty, including the Third Review Conference in Maputo in June 2014, and more recently the Seventeenth Meeting of States Parties in Geneva in November 2018, where it provided a general statement.[1] At the intersessional Standing Committee meetings in June 2011, it was announced that Mexico joined the informal working group of Latin American countries that will monitor the implementation of the Cartagena Action Plan.

Mexico is party to the Convention on Conventional Weapons but not its Amended Protocol II on landmines or Protocol V on explosive remnants of war. Mexico is party to the Convention on Cluster Munitions.

Production, transfer, stockpile destruction, and retention

Mexico has never stockpiled, used, produced, exported, or imported antipersonnel mines, including for training purposes.

Mexico reported having discovered five unidentified antipersonnel mines in Tijuana, Miguel Alemán, and Ebanos in 2010. Two of these mines were destroyed by the end of that year.[2] In its Article 7 report submitted in 2018, Mexico reported the destruction of two Claymore M18A1 mines in April 2017. The origin of the mines is unclear.[3]

[1] Statement of Mexico, Mine Ban Treaty Seventeenth Meeting of States Parties, Geneva, 26 November 2018.

[2] Mine Ban Treaty Article 7 Report, Forms B and G, April 2011.

[3] Mine Ban Treaty Article 7 Report, 11 December 2018.